The Houma-Thibodaux MPO is accepting public comment on a proposed amendment to the Public Participation Plan. This amendment provides new language regarding the Coordinated Human Services Transportation Plan and includes language providing for the use of virtual or online public meetings.

Individuals wanting to comment on the plan may do so at the Technical Advisory Committee meeting to be held on June 10, 2021 at 10am or at the Policy Committee Meeting to be held on July 22, 2021 at 12pm. Individuals may also comment by contacting the MPO directly calling Joshua Manning at (985) 851-2900 or emailing josh@scpdc.org.

Information on attending the meeting will be posted to this website at least one week prior to the meeting. Individuals needing support or auxiliary aids to attend the meeting may contact the MPO using any of the above contact information at least five days prior to the meeting.

The Houma-Thibodaux Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) is responsible for all transportation planning in the Houma-Thibodaux region (Official Map | Interactive Map). Members of the MPO include local government officials as well as representatives from the Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development, the Federal Highway Administration, and the Federal Transit Association.

Meetings of the MPO are held quarterly to discuss transportation issues. The Policy Committee, made up primarily of local elected officials, is the decision making board, responsible for adopting various planning documents and having final approval over project selection. The Technical Advisory Committee is made up of local planners, engineers, and other local stakeholders. The TAC discusses various transportation issues and makes recommendations to the Policy Committee.

The HTMPO was first established in 1983 in an agreement between the State of Louisiana, the City of Houma, Terrebonne Parish, and Lafourche Parish. This agreement has been revisited several times since then as the population in the region has grown, first in 2000 and then again in 2011 to expand the MPO to include the City of Thibodaux, Assumption Parish, and the Town of Lockport.

The Transportation Planning Process

By federal law, MPOs are required be designated in urbanized areas with a population exceeding 50,000 persons. Designations are made by an agreement between the Governor and local governments within the MPO study area. The MPO is responsible for having a continuous, cooperative, and comprehensive transportation planning process that results in plans, programs, and projects that consider all transportation modes supporting community, economic development, and social goals.